Johnston Community College Joins Carolina Cyber Network

Published: July 20, 2023

The Carolina Cyber Network welcomes four new members schools including JCC

CCN logo

Four schools, including Johnston Community college (JCC) have joined the fast-growing ranks of the Carolina Cyber Network (CCN), which is dedicated to closing the critical gap in cybersecurity workforce needs and available workers.

Joining JCC in the network are the University of North Carolina Wilmington, Cleveland Community College, and Isothermal Community College. CCN now has 18 four-year and two-year member schools, all in North Carolina.

“We are excited to partner with these schools to further grow and strengthen the cybersecurity talent pool available in North Carolina,” said Dr. Mark Sorrells, president of Fayetteville Technical Community College, which is a co-founder and leader of the three-year-old CCN organization.

Sorrells said the four new CCN members exhibit the core values of the Carolina Cyber Network: equipping students with “hands-on” technical skills, essential life skills and work-based learning experiences that prepare the students to be “job-ready” to serve the state’s communities through employment in public and private agencies.

Like the other schools joining the CCN, JCC is poised to help bridge the gap in the cybersecurity workforce by helping to train cybersecurity professionals and connect them to economic sectors in need of cyber expertise and talent.

“Johnston Community College is pleased to partner with the Carolina Cyber Network to help students become more skilled technicians to meet the demands of the rapidly evolving cybersecurity landscape,” said Dr. Vern Lindquist, president of Johnston Community College. “Protecting critical infrastructure, personal, organizational, corporate and governmental information is essential as our society continues to expand its digital footprint.”

"CCN exists because of schools like UNCW, Isothermal Community College, Cleveland Community College and Johnston Community College,” said CCN Executive Director Larry Young. “These are schools that believe working together towards a goal supersedes individual agendas. It is a great time to be in cybersecurity.”

In addition to Fayetteville Tech and the four new members, CCN members are: Blue Ridge Community College, Caldwell Community College and Technical Institute, Catawba Valley Community College, Elizabeth City State University, Forsyth Technical Community College, Gaston College, Montreat College, North Carolina A&T State University, Piedmont Community College, Richmond Community College, Stanly Community College, Wake Technical Community College and Wayne Community College.


For more information about CCN, please visit

Did you enjoy this story?

Share this article with your friends!