81 Inducted Into PTK National Honor Society

Published: June 5, 2019

Several of JCC's 2018-19 inductees into the Beta Zeta Theta chapter of the Phi Theta Kappa, PTK, academic honor society posed for a group photo after the ceremony.International honor society recognizes academic achievement of two-year college students.

Eighty-one students were recently inducted into the Beta Zeta Theta chapter of Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society at Johnston Community College for the 2018-19 academic year.

The international honor society recognizes the academic achievement of two-year college students and provides opportunities for individual growth and development through honors, leadership, and service programming. To be invited to be a member of Phi Theta Kappa, a student must have completed at least 12 hours of coursework toward an associate degree and must have obtained a 3.5 grade point average.

An induction ceremony was held May 2 in the Selma Elementary School Auditorium. Dr. Tara Thompson, English instructor and advisor for the Honors Experience, was the guest speaker.

The inductees then recited a pledge of allegiance to the society and to uphold the values of leadership, scholarship, fellowship, and service. As their names were called one by one, the inductees walked across the stage and signed the ceremonial guest book. The induction concluded with a ceremonial lighting of candles. 

The following students were inducted for the 2018-19 academic year: Cassidy Adams of Benson; Julia Alford of Garner; Chloe Allen of Garner; Andrew Applequist of Garner; Stephanie Ardolino of Willow Spring; Rebecca Arias of Clayton; Rachel Ashworth of Goldsboro; Elizabeth Auge of Smithfield; Makenzie Avery of Zebulon; Yolanda Palma Barrera of Smithfield; Anthony Baxley of Selma; Karen Bincarousky of Angier; Brooke Bowley of Willow Spring; Sarah Brewer of Wendell; Karen Briggs of Smithfield; Carol Brown of Pikeville; Vanessa Castillo of Willow Spring; Jami Champagne of Four Oaks; Amber Cooke of Wendell; Jessica Creech of Clayton; Madelyn Daniels of Smithfield; Karina Davis of Selma; Lily Eklund of Smithfield; Haley Evans of Selma; Arhemy Franco-Gonzalez of Smithfield; Leanna Frick of Clayton; Angel Fry of Smithfield; Laura Garcia Zarate of Wake Forest; Juana Garcia of Garner; Mary Gerald of Raleigh; Maria Gonzalez of Smithfield; Dominic Harden of Selma; Rachel Hatfield of Clayton; Alondra Hernandez of Smithfield; Morgan Howell of Clayton; Joshua Hummel of Clinton; Jenna Hurt of Four Oaks; Jordan Jackson of Clayton; Leah Jackson of Benson; Jessie Johnson of Clayton; Cassidy Justice of Clayton; Lucas Kenner of Zebulon; Regan Kerns of Garner; Mary Kirk of Parkton; Jonathan Knott of Clayton; Bryana Konig of Angier; Elizabeth Krajan of Clayton; Elizabeth Letchworth of Wendell; Kamisha Lewis of Wilson; Karen Linares of Clayton; Diana Martin of Knightdale; Faith McNeil of Clayton; Ian Meglaughlin of Smithfield; Yoana Montero Reyes of Rocky Mount; Naomi Nash of Garner; John Overby of Four Oaks; Wendy Parker of Clayton; Deana Pate of Clayton; Bryanna Poore of Clayton; Crystal Pope of Kenly; Erin Porr of Clayton; Skyler Porter of Selma; Jermain Rankins of Smithfield; Ana Rodriguez of Smithfield; Nelson Salas of Smithfield; Franchesca Sanchez of Benson; Patricia Sealey of Smithfield; Rayne Sharrett of Clayton; Britney Shawley of Smithfield; Candice Smith of Goldsboro; Justin Smith of Selma; Kerri Starke of Four Oaks; Dewey Stephenson of Smithfield; Kristen Stone of Clinton; Lauren Strickland of Clayton; Brian Tant of Clayton; Kaitlyn Toole of Benson; Samuel Utley of Smithfield; Justin Vasquez of Wendell; Angel Wagner of Clayton; and Olivia White of Clayton.

For more information about the PTK at JCC, please contact advisor Dr. Lisa Draughon at (919) 209-2234.

Cut line: Several of JCC's 2018-19 inductees into the Beta Zeta Theta chapter of the Phi Theta Kappa, PTK, academic honor society posed for a group photo after the ceremony.

Did you enjoy this story?

Share this article with your friends!