93 Inducted Into PTK National Honor Society

Published: May 7, 2018

International honor society recognizes academic achievement of two-year college students.

JCC inducted 93 students into the Beta Zeta Theta chapter of the Phi Theta Kappa, PTK, academic honor society for 2017-18.Ninety-three students were recently inducted into the Beta Zeta Theta chapter of Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society at Johnston Community College for the 2017-18 academic year.

The international honor society recognizes the academic achievement of two-year college students and provides opportunities for individual growth and development through honors, leadership, and service programming. To be invited to be a member of Phi Theta Kappa, a student must have completed at least 12 hours of coursework toward an associate degree and must have obtained a 3.5 grade point average.

An induction ceremony was held May 1 in the Paul A. Johnston Auditorium on the JCC campus. JCC alum and former Beta Zeta Theta chapter officer of Phi Theta Kappa Shenan Higgins was the guest speaker. Higgins now serves as the communications officer for the Carolina’s Regional Alumni Chapter of Phi Theta Kappa, Alpha Omega.

The inductees then recited a pledge of allegiance to the society and to uphold the values of leadership, scholarship, fellowship, and service. As their names were called one by one, the inductees walked across the stage and signed the ceremonial guest book. The induction concluded with a ceremonial lighting of candles. 

The following students were inducted during the ceremony: Edith Alejo, Dunn; Julieanne Ayers, Raleigh; Kathleen Bailey, Clayton; Patrick Bailey, Smithfield; Erika Bates, Fort Bragg; Michael Bennett, Four Oaks; Mylanie Boone, Garner; Amanda Brackner, Willow Spring; Katelyn Brewer, Wendell; Rachel Brown, Clayton; Frankie Bunch, Clayton; Roberta Carlson, Four Oaks; Arely Carranza, Princeton; Jessica Casillas, Four Oaks; Zachary Castro, Clayton; Noah Clark,  Garner; Angela Cotton, Garner; Crystal Creech, Princeton; Yvonne Donah, Goldsboro; Alexander Driver, Middlesex; Aaron Dublin, Clayton; Faith Dudley, Benson; Anna Ekis, Selma; Ayden Ferrell, Clayton; Joshua Fry, Selma; Estephanie Gamez, Benson; Lillian Garcia, Smithfield; Dianna Gavin, Clayton; Pamela Gibson-Thomas, Clayton; Sean Groves, Dunn; Sarah Hare, Goldsboro; Briseyda Hernandez, Clayton; Cristina Hernandez, Selma; Cameron Hindman, Raleigh; Danielle Hobbs, Clayton; Abby Holmes, Benson; Angela Hyman, Selma; Natlynn Jimmerson, Raleigh; Savannah Johnson, Middlesex; Karen Joya Cabrera, Smithfield; Michaela Kelley, Clayton; Joshua Kinlaw, Clinton; Mary Kubick, Clayton; Sara Lane, Clayton; Brittany Lawhorn, Garner; Elyssa Lee, Garner; Dora Loredo-Vizarraga, Willow Spring; Lesly Mata, Smithfield; Rose Mata, Smithfield; Shaquillria McNair, Mount Olive; Chloe McNeece, Clayton; Ayah Mohamed, Clayton; Lisa Moss, Lucama; Lauren Motley, Clayton; Jatzael Munoz, Knightdale; Angelique Nwabuike, Selma; Justin O'Connor, Clayton; Taylor Olive, Clayton; Robert Parker, Clayton; Cody Parrish, Selma; William Pate, Goldsboro; Kasey Perraut, Willow Spring; Anthony Perry, Smithfield; Cameron Pollock, Kenly; Kaydene Powell, Clayton; Madison Price, Benson; Zephaniah Prince, Selma; William Ragsdale, Raleigh; Jacqueline Ramirez, Benson; Elizabeth Revell, Newton Grove; Emma Revels, Selma; Sonia Ricketts, Garner; Nicholas Robinson, Four Oaks; Josue Robles, Clayton; Karina Rodrigue Montanez, Smithfield; Joely Rouse, Seven Springs; Hannah Rowe, Selma; Lizbeth Ruiz, Selma; Ernesto Salinas, Smithfield; David Santana, Clayton; Kimly Singleton, Princeton; Mary St Clair, Garner; Veronica Surer, Clayton; Brittny Sutton, Kenly; Khalanie Taylor, Clayton; Felicia Thompson, Clayton; Tara Thompson, Smithfield; Darlene Tice, Clayton; Gabrielle Timbol, Clayton; Matthew Watkins, Clayton; December Watson, Kenly; Mackenzie Wrench, Four Oaks; and Mandy Zheng, Angier.

For more information about the PTK at JCC, please contact advisor Dr. Lisa Draughon at (919) 209-2234.

Cut line: JCC inducted 93 students into the Beta Zeta Theta chapter of the Phi Theta Kappa, PTK, academic honor society for 2017-18.

Did you enjoy this story?

Share this article with your friends!