49 Inducted into National Technical Honor Society

Published: May 2, 2017

nationaltechnicalhonorsocietygroupphotoHonor society recognizes outstanding achievement of vocational and technical students.

The National Technical Honor Society at Johnston Community College inducted 49 new members for the 2016-17 academic year. The honor society recognizes outstanding achievement of vocational and technical students who have completed a minimum of 12 credit hours and maintain a 3.5 GPA. JCC has been a chartered member of the NTHS since 1999.

Steven Moore, a JCC alum who will earn his bachelor’s degree in fire and emergency medical science from Fayetteville State University in May, was the guest speaker for the ceremony. While at JCC, Moore was president of NTHS, a student ambassador, and was also a member of TRIO, and JCC Live. He also was awarded the Citizenship Award at graduation in May 2015.

stevenmoore“I have achieved great things at Fayetteville State University, all because of what I learned at JCC,” Moore said.

“I challenge each and every one of you when you are faced with challenges in the game of life, do not sit around and worry about it – adapt to it and overcome it.”

The following students were inducted during a ceremony April 20: Heidi Fontes of Benson; Kristina Hatcher of Raleigh; Rebecca Munday of Middlesex; Isabel Barcenas-Valdez of Smithfield; George Haywood of Smithfield; Phillip Payne of Angier; Frankie Bunch of Clayton; Tyler Hinton of Garner; Matthew Peedin of Smithfield; Maria Calderon Medrano of Selma; Brandi Howell of Smithfield; Ana Rodriguez of Smithfield; Angelica Casanova of Clayton; Natlynn Jimmerson of Raleigh; Filiberta Santiago of Smithfield; Cecila Coddington of Smithfield; Brenda Jones of Smithfield; George Satterfield of Clayton; Faith Dudley of Benson; Marian Litwiler of Benson; David Schmaling of Four Oaks; Meredith Dusek of Clayton; Eric Mabe of Smithfield; Taylor Seabolt of Dunn; Tyler Gore of Smithfield; James McGrath of Clayton; Pamela Thomas-Gibson of Clayton; Christen McLaughlin of Garner; Sherrese Wallace of Smithfield; Lewis Wagner of Clayton; Harley Alger of Smithfield; Wendy Porter of Fayetteville; Jerry Bondoc of Clayton; Sonia Ricketts of Garner; Amy Diamond of Goldsboro; Joely Rouse of Goldsboro; Alejandro Huapilla of Wendell; Tony Salgado of Kenly; Catherine Newton of Selma; Katherine Scott of Willow Springs; Kevin Harper of Four Oaks; Kelly Tesh of Benson; Heidi Hudnut of Apex; Jaimie Wischnowsky of Clayton; Robert Murphy of Clayton; Kristy Wood of Clayton; Winston Pennington of Clayton; and Lindsay Pittman of Clayton.

For more information about the NTHS at JCC, please contact advisor Paula Parrish at (919) 209-2108.

Cut line: Thirty of the 49 students attended the National Technical Honor Society induction. JCC alum Steven Moore was the guest speaker.

Did you enjoy this story?

Share this article with your friends!