85 Inducted into Phi Theta Kappa National Honor Society

Published: April 25, 2016

ptkinductionThe international honor society recognizes outstanding academic achievement of two-year college students.

Eighty-five students were recently inducted into the Beta Zeta Theta chapter of Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society at Johnston Community College for the 2015-16 academic year.

The international honor society recognizes the academic achievement of two-year college students and provides opportunities for individual growth and development through honors, leadership, and service programming. To be invited to be a member of Phi Theta Kappa, a student must have completed at least 12 hours of coursework toward an associate degree and must have obtained a 3.5 grade point average.

An induction ceremony was held April 15 in the Public Safety Services Building on the JCC campus. Stephanie Cassidy, a 2015 graduate of JCC and current student at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill was the guest speaker.

A PTK member last year, Cassidy shared with the inductees the hard work the club members put in to move the chapter from a level one status to a level four status. She congratulated the students and encouraged them to work hard and help grow the Beta Zeta Theta chapter of PTK at JCC.

"Some of you students might relate to this quote by C.S. Lewis. You are never too old to set a new goal or dream a new dream. I would like to encourage you to get involved," Cassidy said. "To the next generation, you have already taken the first step by participating tonight. My charge to you is to continue the work that has been started and help us achieve the goal of a level 5 star chapter at the 2017 spring convention."

The inductees then recited a pledge of allegiance to the society and to uphold the values of leadership, scholarship, fellowship, and service. As their names were called one by one, the inductees walked across the stage and signed the ceremonial guest book. The induction concluded with a ceremonial lighting of candles.

The following students were inducted during the ceremony: Asilah Alwahishi of Selma; Erica Andrews of Garner; Samantha Atkins of Smithfield; Carrie Autry of Angier; Jessica Autry of Benson; Nicole Ayala of Raleigh; Jacob Barbour of Smithfield; Ryan Barnes of Raleigh; Samuel Baxter of Clayton; Alexia Binns of Garner; Yvonne Bivens of Clayton; Gabrielle Bonini of Sims; Emily Bouchard of Smithfield; Justin Bratcher of Clayton; Nicole Brown of Selma; Samuel Bryant of Princeton; Dorothy Bumpers of Youngsville; Michael Cavenaugh of Dunn; Alejandro Ceballos-Ramos of Smithfield; Miguel Cerna of Wilson; Hailey Chalfant of Clayton; Tyler Daniels of Princeton; Owen Daughtry of Smithfield; Rebekah De La Cruz of Eastover; Aubrey Devinney of Clayton; Isabel Douglas of Clayton; Amber Edge of Roseboro; Angela Ellis of Four Oaks; Monica Ennis of Dunn; Noah Evans of Clayton; Jenna Fowler of Selma; Timmothy Godwin of Benson; April Hagans of Raleigh; Emma Hall of Clayton; Elizabeth Hanlon of Four Oaks; Destiny Harden of Selma; Lawanda Harris of Clayton; Kelsey Hawkins of Smithfield; Misty Holleman of Four Oaks; Crystal Holloman of Selma; Jackson Holt of Pine Level; Jason Hudda of Clayton; Carla Hudson of Goldsboro; Jennifer Janowiecki of Auburn, AL; Jose Jimenez of Clayton; Deanna Massey of Clayton; Nicholass McFarlane of Selma; Sarah Mitchell of Garner; Robert Murphy of Clayton; Margaret Nabagescera of Willow Spring; Casie Narron of Princeton; Tammy Newsome of Fremont; Beverley Owens of Kenly; Lindsey Pearson of Clayton; Benjamin Potter of Kinston; Jordan Prosser of Garner; Chelsea Reekie of Fayetteville; Sierra Rice of Smithfield; Ariel Rivera of Smithfield; Andrew Roman of Garner; Lisa Ross of Clayton; Katherine Samuelson of Clayton; Joshua Schroder of Kenly; Sydney Schroder of Kenly; Cody Simonson of Smithfield; Lenae Sizemore of Raleigh; Ashley Smith of Efland; Amy Stewart of Angier; Hillary Sudbury of Clayton; Evelyn Tovar of Clayton; Chloe Vann of Smithfield; Lewis Wagner of Clayton; Tonya Warren of Dunn; Alex Weaver of Goldsboro; Matthew Whaley of Smithfield; Kelley Whittington of Clayton; Patricia Wildoner of Clayton; Morgan Wilkins of Four Oaks; Taylor Wilkins of Four Oaks; Allyson Williams of Youngsville; David Williams of Kenly; Lynsie Williams of Garner; Nicole Worth of Selma; and Jasil Younger of Zebulon.

For more information about the PTK at JCC, please contact advisors Stephanie Hall at (919) 464-2376, Lance Gooden at (919) 464-2375, or Dr. Lisa Draughon at (919) 209-2381.

Cut line: Samantha Atkins of Smithfield, right, and Nicole Ayala of Raleigh light their candles during the PTK induction.

Did you enjoy this story?

Share this article with your friends!