Defensive Driving Courses
4 Hour Online Course
Online driving classes for traffic tickets must be approved by the District Attorney's Office in the county where you received your citation. YOU WILL BE REQUIRED TO COMPLETE THE 8-HOUR CLASS IF YOU HAVE PREVIOUSLY COMPLETED THIS 4-HOUR CLASS IN THE PAST 3 YEARS.
Attitudinal Dynamics of Driving 4 Hour Course
This is the Defensive Driving Four (4) Hour Class. This must be approved by the District Attorney's Office in the county where you received your citation. This program is made available to you by the Johnston County District Attorney’s Office, Johnston Community College, and the Safety and Health Council of North Carolina.
DDC-ADD is a 4-hour course designed as an interactive refresher course that defines what it means to be a safe and responsible driver. This course emphasizes fundamental driving skills and knowledge.
Attitudinal Dynamics of Driving 8 Hour Course
This is the Defensive Driving Eight (8) Hour Class. This program is made available to you by the Johnston County District Attorney’s Office, Johnston Community College, and the Safety and Health Council of North Carolina.
DDC-ADD is an 8-hour course that addresses the attitudes and behaviors of the negligent driver. Interactive exercises, lectures, visuals and thought provoking discussions are used to teach responsibility on the road. Self-assessment and creating a personal action plan for driver improvement are required for this course.
- Registration is on a first-come, first-served basis.
- 8 Hour In-Person Classes are held on Saturdays from 7:30 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
- 4 Hour In-Person Classes are held on Thursdays from 5:30 p.m. - 9:30 p.m.
- Classes are held on the main campus of Johnston Community College, Public Safety Building. Driving directions are available.
- Any high school or home-schooled student UNDER 18 YEARS of age, outside of Johnston County, must have a Concurrent Enrollment Form (PDF) completed and on file prior to taking this class. Submit this form with the registration form prior to class start date.
- Registration fee is non-refundable.
- Students who are late will not be admitted.
Estimated Program Cost
- Registration fee for 8 Hour Class = $105
- Registration fee for 4 Hour Class = $75
- Registration fee for Online Course = $85
- Tuition and fees are due in full at time of registration.
Upcoming Class Dates
|4 Hour Seated Class Dates||8 Hour Seated Class Dates|
|October 19, 2023||November 18, 2023|
|November 30, 2023||December 2, 2023|
|January 25, 2024||January 20, 2024|
|February 22, 2024||February 24, 2024|
|March 21, 2024||March 16, 2024|
|April 25, 2024||April 20, 2024|
|May 16, 2024||May 25, 2024|
What to Bring to Class
- Driver's License or photo identification
- Copy of Citation (If Possible)
- Pen & notepad
For more information contact:
In-Service Law Enforcement Programs Coordinator