Johnston Community College

  Search WebAdvisor for Classes  Blackboard  Jaguar Alerts  Appointment Plus  Ed2Go Online Courses  Student Google e-Mail  Outlook Faculty/Staff e-Mail   Find Us On Facebook!   Schedules and Registration - WebAdvisor JCC's QEP - Quality Enhancement Plan
Curriculum tuition payments for fall 2014 will be accepted at the cashier’s window until 5:00 pm Thursday, July 31 and can be made online via WebAdvisor until midnight Friday, Aug. 1. Learn more about our tuition payment plan.
Scenes from JCC
 Browse by Program:
Site Content
corner of main content section
Skip Navigation Links

DISTRICT ATTORNEY SUSAN DOYLE WANTS YOU
TO BECOME A SAFER DRIVER!

If you have been charged with one of the traffic violations listed below, the Safe Driving Program may minimize or prevent the assessment of insurance points or premium surcharges on your insurance policy and/or points on your driver’s license.

You must complete the National Safety Council’s 4-hour Defensive Driving Course through Johnston Community College. This program
is offered by the Johnston County District Attorney’s Office, Johnston Community College, and the Safety and Health Council of North Carolina.

You MAY be ELIGIBLE for this program if  you are 25 or older OR at the discretion of the District Attorney and your traffic citation is for…

  • Crossing median - 20-146
  • Driving left of center - 20-146
  • Failing to reduce speed - 20-141
  • Driving the wrong way on a dual lane - 20-165.1
  • Failing to signal when turning - 20-142 & 20-158.1
  • Failing to wear seat belt - 20-135.2A
  • Failing to yield - 20-155 & 20-258.1
  • Failing to yield pedestrian right of way - 20-173
  • Following too closely -  20-152
  • Impeding traffic - 20-141
  • Improper passing - 20-150
  • Improper turn - 20-153
  • Improper use of traffic lane - 20-146.2
  • Move Over Law - 20-157(f)
  • No operators license - 20-7(a)
  • Red light violation - 20-158
  • Speeding up to 20 mph over limit - 20-141
  • Speeding too fast for conditions - 20-141(a)
  • Stop sign violation - 20-158
  • Unsafe movement - 20-154

You are not eligible for this program if...

  • you have paid off the ticket or citation before class
  • you are charged with speeding in a work zone or in a school zone
  • you have taken the course in the last three years

Course Content

  • Benefits of defensive driving
  • Speeding and speed limits
  • ABS brakes
  • Proper vehicle maintenance
  • Child safety seats
  • Avoiding a head-on crash
  • Drugs and their effect on driving
  • Right of Way
  • The "triple crash"
  • Dealing with aggressive drivers
  • Safe and legal following distance
  • The six driving conditions
  • Air bags and safety belts
  • Reducing stress and aggression
  • Fatigue
  • Staying in control

Why Take This Course?

Insurance points will cost you money.  The Defensive Driving Course may minimize or prevent the assessment of insurance points or premium surcharges on your insurance policy and/or points on your driver's license.

Points % Rate Cost if Basic Rate is $300 Points % Rate Cost if Basic Rate is $300
1 25% $375 7 180% $840
2 45% $435 8 220% $960
3 65% $495 9 260% $1,080
4 90% $570 10 300% $1,200
5 120% $660 11 350% $1,350
6 150% $750 12 400% $1,500

Certification

Johnston Community College is the certified National Safety Council Public Sub-Agency serving Johnston County for the Safety and Health Council of North Carolina.

For Class Dates...

Please contact the defensive driving office between the hours of 8am and 2pm Monday through Thursday and 8am and 12pm on Fridays.

Ready to Register?

The Defensive Driving Registration Information page has important information regarding registration and links to the appropriate defensive driving course registration forms.

For more information, contact:
JCC Defensive Driving
919-209-2213

Johnston Community College | 245 College Road | PO Box 2350 Smithfield, NC 27577
(919) 934-3051 - http://www.johnstoncc.edu - Copyright © 2014, All Rights Reserved.